Data Cart

Your data extract

0 variables
0 samples
View Cart
Place where last HIV test was taken


This variable is not available for any of the currently selected samples.


For men ever been tested for HIV/AIDS, ATLWHEREMN (MV829) reports where the man's last HIV/AIDS test was taken. Response categories vary across samples. See Comparability.


Along with universe differences, the response categories for ATLWHEREMN vary across samples.

The harmonized coding categories in the IPUMS-DHS variable ATLWHEREMN were constructed to reflect the major and minor categories in the original DHS variable (MV829). The major categories are:

  • 1000: Public sector facilities
  • 2000: Private medical sector facilities
  • 3000: Non-governmental organizations (NGOs)
  • 4000: Religious/mission facilities
  • 5000: Other

The second, third, and fourth digits of the codes for ATLWHEREMN distinguish between specific locations and provide detail present in only some samples.

Comparability - Standard DHS

ATLWHEREMN (MV829) is included in Phase V forward of the standard DHS men's questionnaire.


No universe descriptions are currently available.
  • Afghanistan: 2015-M
  • Angola: 2015-M
  • Benin: 2006-M, 2011-M, 2017-M
  • Burkina Faso: 2010-M
  • Burundi: 2010-M, 2016-M
  • Cameroon: 2011-M, 2018-M
  • Chad: 2004-M, 2014-M
  • Congo (Democratic Republic): 2007-M, 2013-M
  • Congo Brazzaville: 2005-M, 2011-M
  • Cote d'Ivoire: 2011-M
  • Eswatini (Swaziland): 2006-M
  • Ethiopia: 2011-M, 2016-M
  • Ghana: 2008-M, 2014-M
  • Guinea: 2012-M, 2018-M
  • India: 2005-M, 2015-M
  • Kenya: 2008-M, 2014-M
  • Lesotho: 2009-M, 2014-M
  • Liberia: 2007-M, 2013-M
  • Madagascar: 2008-M
  • Malawi: 2010-M, 2016-M
  • Mali: 2006-M, 2012-M, 2018-M
  • Mozambique: 2011-M
  • Myanmar: 2015-M
  • Namibia: 2006-M, 2013-M
  • Nepal: 2011-M, 2016-M
  • Niger: 2006-M, 2012-M
  • Nigeria: 2008-M, 2013-M
  • Pakistan: 2017-M
  • Rwanda: 2010-M, 2014-M
  • Senegal: 2010-M, 2014-M, 2015-M, 2016-M, 2017-M
  • South Africa: 2016-M
  • Tanzania: 2010-M
  • Togo: 2013-M
  • Uganda: 2006-M, 2011-M, 2016-M
  • Zambia: 2007-M, 2013-M, 2018-M
  • Zimbabwe: 2005-M, 2010-M, 2015-M