Data Cart

Your data extract

0 variables
0 samples
View Cart
GEO_MG1992_2008 (GEO_MG1992_2008)
Madagascar regions, 1992-2008 [integrated; GIS]

Codes and Frequencies

Can't find the category you are looking for? Try the Detailed codes


GEO_ MG1992_2008 indicates the region of Madagascar where the respondent was interviewed. The variable is integrated to yield units with consistent boundaries across samples.

Labels identify the modern geographic units (autonomous provinces) contained in each integrated region. Each sample also has its own non-integrated geography variable. The 2008 Madagascar sample has greater geographic detail available in its sample-specific variable.

An integrated GIS map (in shapefile format) for Madagascar can be downloaded here.


Madagascar had 6 autonomous provinces in 1992-2003, which later split into 22 regions in 2008, as follows:

  • Analamanga, Vakinankaratra, Itasy, and Bongolava were created from the Antananarivo province.
  • Haute Matsiatra, Anamoroni'i Mania, Vatovavy Fitovinany, Ihorombe, and Astimo Atsinanana were created from the Fianarantsoa province.
  • Atsinanana, Analanjirofo, and Alaotra Mangoro were created from the Toamasina province.
  • Boeny, Sofia, Betsiboka, and Melaky were created from the Mahajanga province.
  • Atsimo Andrefana, Androy, Anosy, and Menabe were created from the Toliary province.
  • Diana and Sava were created from the Antsiranana province.


  • Madagascar 1992: All women age 15-49.
  • Madagascar 1997: All women age 15-49.
  • Madagascar 2003: All women age 15-49.
  • Madagascar 2008: All women age 15-49.
  • Madagascar: 1992-W, 1992-C, 1992-B, 1992-H, 1997-W, 1997-C, 1997-B, 1997-H, 2003-W, 2003-M, 2003-C, 2003-B, 2003-H, 2008-W, 2008-M, 2008-C, 2008-B, 2008-H